Resources for Adoptive Families

GENERAL RESOURCES

US Department of State Adoption website - www.adoption.state.gov
Joint Council on International Children's Services - www.jcics.org
US Citizen and Immigration Services - www.uscis.gov
General adoption information - www.adoption.com
Adoption Learning Partners - online training courses (including Hague-approved curriculum) - www.adoptionlearningpartners.org


ADOPTION-RELATED PUBLICATIONS :: Books, Magazines, Articles

Adoptive Families magazine - www.adoptivefamilies.com
Tapestry Books - www.tapestrybooks.com
International Adoption Articles Registry - www.adoptionarticlesdirectory.com
Perspectives Press - www.perspectivespress.com


FINANCING AN ADOPTION

IRS Adoption Tax Credit information - www.irs.gov/taxtopics
Gift of Adoption - www.giftofadoption.org
National Adoption Foundation financial programs - www.nafadopt.org
Show Hope [formerly Shaohannah's Hope] - www.showhope.org
Adoption benefits [non-exhaustive list of employers] - www.benefits.adoption.com
The ABBA Fund - www.abbafund.org
Oxford Adoption Foundation - www.oxfordadoption.com
Adoption Support Center financing page  - www.adoptionsupportcenter.com
Lifesong for Orphans - www.lifesongfororphans.org
The Sparrow Fund - www.sparrow-fund.org
Adoptive Families Magazine's article on expenses help - www.adoptivefamilies.com > "Adoption Expenses: Where to Go for Help"
National Endowment for Financial Education: "How To Make Adoption an Affordable Option" - publications.usa.gov/epublications/adoption
CWF FamilyBuilder Fund - www.christianworldfoundation.org/familybuilderfund
Adoption Network Law Center - www.adoptionnetwork.com/adoptiveparents
A Child Waits Foundation - www.achildwaits.org 
America's Christian Credit Union [adoption loans for Christian adoptive families]  -  www.americaschristiancu.com/personal/loans


    >> Military Adoptive Families << 


CULTURAL DIVERSITY IDEAS

InCultureParent: A Magazine for Parents Raising Little Global Citizens - www.incultureparent.com
Kids Culture Center - www.kidsculturecenter.com
Culture for Kids - www.cultureforkids.com

PARENTING CHILDREN WHO HAVE SPECIAL NEEDS and/or 
CHILDREN WHO HAVE COME FROM DIFFICULT BEGINNINGS


Adoption Learning Partners web-based training courses (pre- & post-adoption educational resources)  - www.adoptionlearningpartners.org/parenting
Empowered To Connect online library of videos & articles from Dr. Karyn Purvis, others (pre- & post-adoption counseling & parenting resources)  - www.empoweredtoconnect.org/resources/
Rainbow Kids advocacy website for waiting children (special needs, siblings, older children)  - www.rainbowkids.com
"The Waiting Child Video" from Rainbow Kids - www.rainbowkids.com > "The Waiting Child Video"
Project HOPEFUL "Educating, Encouraging, & Enabling Families Adopting Children with HIV/AIDS" - - www.projecthopeful.org
Project HOPEFUL's resources page - www.projecthopeful.org/resources
Beyond Consequences - Heather Forbes' online seminars  - www.beyondconsequences.com
University of Minnesota International Adoption Clinic - www.med.umn.edu/peds/iac
Orphan Doctor - International Pediatric Health Services, PLLC Dr. Jane Aronson, FAAP - www.orphandoctor.com